Trying New Medicines

The past few days have been spent at the chemo lab trying to get this nausea thing under control.  The old medicine combinations I was trying were no longer working.  This caused me to be very sick and I could not keep any of my nutrients or meds down, which in turn caused other problems.


I really have to share how God has continued to protect me in so many small yet tangible ways.  Like whenever I have had to upchuck, I am always near a depository! You can not imagine how much a relief that is unless you have had it happen to you with no where to go.  Like when I need to go in to see the doctor, who’s schedule is always full, God makes space for me every time.  Like when the electricity failed during one of my hydration treatments, A space was found immediately for me in the emergency room, no waiting, no registration stop, no Q&A.  Once in the room, God sends our friend, Kaiser ER Nurse Glenn Morimoto into the room for a quick hello, he see’s the drip on my IV has stopped, pulls out a gadget, pokes something in my line, squirts some on the floor, presto, my line is working again!  God you are an AWESOME and MIGHTY God, thank you for all you do in our lives!!!


Today, I started a new dose of anti-nausea medicines and hopefully this does the trick.  Jody and I have been plugging away at trying to maintain my weight, it has been fluctuating between 165 and 160 lbs.  Jody has been so good to me, watching out for all the things the dietician told her about, helping me to get around and waiting hours at a time while I am getting hydration, meds, IV drips.  Also, Dr. L. at radiation (yes, still doing that) continues to marvel at how good things are going considering the very intensive levels of treatment I receive. 


I can just begin to see a light at the end of tunnel one.  Soon, phase one will be over and I get a break, yippee! 


Thank you for your continued thoughts and prayers.  I pray that God is keeping each of you as you go about your daily life. We lift up those who have their own illnesses, trials or challenges.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jessica_tekawa
    Jun 23, 2006 @ 19:17:00

    hey mike, i can’t believe you’re able to keep updating us (with japan reports and how you’re doing) in the midst of all this!! thanks. and it is wonderful how God’s given you little reminders of his love throughout this process. hang on to that!

    Reply

Leave a comment